Old November 2, 2003, 10:00   #61
Catfish
Prince

Local Time: 21:25
Local Date: November 2, 2010
I don’t really want to add fuel to the fire here, but a few comments about copyright grabbed my attention:

Quote:
Originally posted by thorgrimm
…thats his problem unless he has a copyright on his scen he does not own it The people who bought out microprose do!!!
Quote:
Originally posted by techumseh
When I was a newbie around here, I witnessed the debates when Alex the Magnificent tried to claim copyright on his artwork and even tried to SELL his scenarios (those were the days of Glastnost, I guess ) Alex conceded defeat, and the current understanding has been in place ever since.
I just read Hasbro’s EULA for Civ2 ToT and couldn’t find any clause that explicitly claims copyright ownership of any material produced for or by its software. There is, however, a paragraph which states the following:

Quote:
OWNERSHIP; COPYRIGHT: Title to the CD-ROM and the Documentation, and patents, copyrights and all other property rights applicable thereto, shall at all times remain solely and exclusively with Hasbro Interactive and its licensors…
From this and other sections of the agreement, it is clear that the contents of the CD-ROM and trademarks are protected. However, it is not clear what "patents, copyrights and all other property rights applicable thereto" covers – in fact it’s a circular statement in some respects.

My assumption is that the company will not claim copyright of other people’s scenarios, graphics and sounds. Therefore, irrespective of whether or not the creator/designer states copyright ownership, by the laws of most countries, ownership defaults to the creator/designer.