Old November 5, 2003, 06:27   #1
Ision
Warlord

Local Time: 11:55
Local Date: November 2, 2010
is it worth a war? part II
Forum moderators, please do not move the 2 post that will follow to the 'stories section'. I began all of this as a general question, but it has become a running story. The people that replied to my intial post did so in this forum "General", and may not know that I did this follow up.

Please excuse me, and I will ensure not to do this again in the future.

Respectfully, Ision
Old November 5, 2003, 06:27   #2
Ision
Warlord

Firstly, let me thank all of you (especially 'dexters') for your responses and suggestions. Unfortunately I was unable to read the last few posts until well after I started playing again. Let me just state that I have been playing for a long time, always the AU MOD, and always at monarch (I give the AIs even more advantages in my tweaks to the AU MOD). I have not lost a game in quite some time (about 9 or 10 games a go).

This is my last PTW game, and I think God has granted me with the most special CIV game I have ever played as a parting gift. For the first time ever, I have seen an AI CIV on another continent with 4 other CIVs become hyper-dominant before any CIV has reached Metallurgy or Physics.

Here’s what I did:

1. I Built up 24 Caravels and loaded them with Knights, Musketmen, and 2 settlers. The target was 2 luxury sources 7 hexes apart in Arabia across the sea. The strategy was to ally with 2 other CIVs over there, land 2/3rds of the force with a 3rd non-allied ROP CIV and invade by sea in between the 2-luxery sources. The goal – rapid attack overland with a holding action by the sea borne bridgehead.