Old November 25, 2003, 07:38   #31
mimi
Warlord

Local Time: 09:10
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Funny how people are so different... I tried the Mayans 7 times in a row, thinking I'd have fun with their UU. Got my bottom kicked... didn't even notice they were agri, didn't really care, actually, 'cause the incas wouldn't leave me alone long enough to grow anything. I now hate them...

Then I just started playing random everything and just got the Dutch for the first time. (Random usually sets me to be Egypt for some reason????)

Never thought of playing the Dutch before 'cause, well, the only games I reload from the start are the island maps 'cause I really hate the tedium of trying to move troops overseas (200 years to cross an ocean? Big freaky ocean!!) so seafaring is a wasteful trait for my game style.

Anyway, the Dutch UU is the only reason why I'm still alive... I only have 2 of my original 7 towns with more than 10 pop, the other 5 are only 6/7 pop; the Mongols have 11 towns, most about size 7, 2 of them are size 9/10... so I'm not sure what benefit the agri trait has given me?

(But, then again, perhaps I just don't know how to milk the traits correctly... I usually just play the game and don't pay attention to the traits too much.)
mimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25, 2003, 07:59   #32
Thrar
Warlord

Local Time: 13:10
interesting debate, and while I don't own conquests yet, from what you guys say Ag seems to be quite a powerful trait indeed, and still decent on 'bad' maps.

However, if it really can be considered overpowered (and with desert irrigation +1 and +1 per town it is already on par with the rest, imo), maybe a solution could be increasing the usefulness of the other traits, instead of decreasing this one?