Old December 16, 2003, 17:26   #1
Ision
Warlord

Local Time: 14:44
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Ultra fast strategy for moving up as a newbie
Hold your breath newbies, but there IS 1 sure fire way to move from Chieftain to Regent or Monarch in record time!!

Unfortunately, you WILL NOT like my advice.

The advice is simple:

Play games to the bitter end, and LOSE them

I have learned 10 times more from my defeats than my victories. As a newbie I would always linger at each difficulty level until I was sure I could advance. No one likes to lose, no one plays to lose – and don’t you either. But, believe me when I tell you that if you ever play a long drawn out game in which you fight life and death to your very last unit, to your very last city – you will have gained more than 10 wins and reading 5 expert strategy articles.

Here’s another thing that you will also find interesting, the only memorable games you will ever play will be nail biting victories and bitter defeats. The games I have won or lost by a single turn – to a Space race Victory, or a bitter war in which I am vastly outnumbered, or snatching (or barely missing) a Modern Age cultural/diplo win as one of the smallest Civs in the game –those are the only ones that make the game worthwhile. The rest of the games are ‘fun’, but no big deal – at times they may even be tedious.

Of course I haven’t said a thing in this post that any of you don’t already know – lol-
As a newbie I already knew it as well – but failed to heed my own advice for far too long. Don’t be like Ision and take an eternity to win your first Emperor or Diety game – heed your own advice –

Go down in flames today – and you won’t tomorrow!

Sincerely, Ision
Old December 16, 2003, 18:01   #2
Dis
ACDG3 SpartansC4DG Vox
Deity

Local Time: 07:44
I like to win. what can I say
Old December 16, 2003, 18:06   #3
Ision
Warlord

Local Time: 14:44
lol

I would say - that you clicked on this post because you also like the idea of moving up in level -