Old December 28, 2003, 11:25   #1
bodiki
Settler

Local Time: 01:16
Local Date: November 3, 2010
Diffuculty comparison from II to III
Good morn folks, I am going to be picking up a copy of Civ's III in a couple of days and I am curios about the diffuculty settings compared to Civ's II. Will playing the higher settings being more challenging than Civ II? I have been playing Civ's II for several years and now only play diety.

Any feedback would be helpfull. Thanks.
Old December 28, 2003, 12:55   #2
vee4473
King

Local Time: 10:16
Local Date: November 2, 2010
well, since i don't play on the higher levels, I can't help ya,

but, try and get the conquests expansion . They made even more levels. higher than deity.
Old December 28, 2003, 13:15   #3
Catt
PtWDG Gathering StormApolyton University
King

Local Time: 08:16
Re: Diffuculty comparison from II to III
Quote:
Originally posted by bodiki
Good morn folks, I am going to be picking up a copy of Civ's III in a couple of days and I am curios about the diffuculty settings compared to Civ's II. Will playing the higher settings being more challenging than Civ II? I have been playing Civ's II for several years and now only play diety.

Any feedback would be helpfull. Thanks.
I never played Civ II, but have heard from lots of players who always played Deity in Civ II and found that the learning curve to playing Civ III at Deity is considerably steeper. I know of several regular posters who played only Deity in Civ II who regularly play Monarchy or Emperor in Civ III (even if they are capable of playing and winning at higher levels).

Catt
Old December 28, 2003, 14:26   #4
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 11:16
I would say yes. It is not hard to learn the methods to win at any level in CivII.

CivIII has or rather had some techniques that could get you in position to win at deity, if you did the micromanaging and did not run afoul of the start location or the RNG.