Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 2, 2004, 06:53   #31
Kuciwalker
Deity
 
Kuciwalker's Avatar
 
Local Time: 11:21
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 21,822
Yeah, and "communal" should be seperate for the slider - so you can not only specify a government to have evenly distributed corruption, you can specify how much corruption that is.
__________________
[Obama] is either a troll or has no ****ing clue how government works - GePap
Later amendments to the Constitution don't supersede earlier amendments - GePap
Kuciwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2, 2004, 08:45   #32
Risa
Apolyton University
Warlord
 
Local Time: 23:21
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally posted by Sir Ralph
Jesse:

This piece of code...

{omitted}

obviously calculates the rank with only one center, the real capital. My solution would be to execute it n times with different capitals (n being the number of capitals - Palace, FP, SPHQ, may be more in scenarios) and to take the least calculated rank. I would code it, but I don't know i what variables/classes you keep the # of capitals and their coordinates.
It doesn't need a new loop, I think. Changing iRealCapitalDist to iClosestCapitalDist will solve that.

Of course, iTempDist should also change as Jesse said.
Risa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2, 2004, 08:54   #33
Harovan
staff
PtWDG Gathering StormPtWDG2 Monty PythonC4DG Gathering Storm
Civ4: Colonization Content Editor
 
Local Time: 16:21
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 11,117
Quote:
Originally posted by Risa
It doesn't need a new loop, I think. Changing iRealCapitalDist to iClosestCapitalDist will solve that.

Of course, iTempDist should also change as Jesse said.
No, this would mess it up in a hideous way, kind of "Mexico is closer to Washington than Bangkok is to Moscow. Which city will get a higher rank?". And iTempDist is just a variable name. You can call it all you want, the content remains the same.
Harovan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2, 2004, 09:02   #34
Harovan
staff
PtWDG Gathering StormPtWDG2 Monty PythonC4DG Gathering Storm
Civ4: Colonization Content Editor
 
Local Time: 16:21
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 11,117
By the way, my proposed solution has one downside. It allows some kind of "negative capital related RCP", will say that if a city has the same rank relative to palace and FP, this rank exists only one time (and not twice as it should). Albeit this is a really minor "bug", it can be addressed too. The cleanest way to sort this out is to calculate all ranks relative to all capitals (you get n tables with ranks, n is the # of capitals) and then assign the ranks to cities one by one, beginning with the least. Cities, which have a rank assigned, shall then be removed out of all tables, that does the trick.

This sounds complicated, but it doesn't have to be recalculated every turn. Only if a city is built, a city is lost or a palace/FP/SPHQ is finished, it needs to be computed.
Harovan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2, 2004, 09:42   #35
Risa
Apolyton University
Warlord
 
Local Time: 23:21
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally posted by Sir Ralph

No, this would mess it up in a hideous way, kind of "Mexico is closer to Washington than Bangkok is to Moscow. Which city will get a higher rank?".
I don't understand it. Assuming you have a palace in Washington and a forbidden palace in Moscow, and Bankok and Mexico are your other two cities, Bangkok will get higher rank.

Quote:
Originally posted by Sir Ralph

And iTempDist is just a variable name. You can call it all you want, the content remains the same.
Oh no no no.
I mean changing iTempDist to
Code:
iTempDist = vectorDist(pClosestCapital->getX(), pClosestCapital->getY(), pLoopCity->getX(), pLoopCity->getY());
Risa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2, 2004, 10:01   #36
Harovan
staff
PtWDG Gathering StormPtWDG2 Monty PythonC4DG Gathering Storm
Civ4: Colonization Content Editor
 
Local Time: 16:21
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 11,117
Quote:
Originally posted by Risa
I don't understand it. Assuming you have a palace in Washington and a forbidden palace in Moscow, and Bankok and Mexico are your other two cities, Bangkok will get higher rank.
No. They both could get the same rank (1), if they are the closest to their particular capital. The whole sense of the action is, that every capital gets the whole set (1, 2, 3, 4, ...) of ranks. Your proposed method would share only one set of ranks between all capitals, for instance cities closer to Washington get rank 1, 4, 5, 6, ... and cities closer to Moscow get 2, 3, 7, 8, ... get it? That was roughly the same the FP worked in 1.0. People complained, and right so.
Harovan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2, 2004, 12:18   #37
thorpey
Settler
 
Local Time: 15:21
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 21
Am I getting it wrong or is this what is "intended" ?

1. The addition of the new specialists like city engineer mean the FP should be reduced in power.
2. The addition of SPHQ has added greater complexity to the corruption calculation and therefore needed a rethink.

Imagine this:

1. The palace has an effective radius of 25 squares
2. The FP and the SPHQ have an effective radius of 17 squares

Any city outside of either range is effectively corrupt and unproductive but with careful use of specialists can still be useful.

The numbers 25 and 17 are random numbers and just used to illustrate my point, but I think something like this is what is intended. ie the Palce remains the "core" and the FP/SPHQ are "lesser cores".

In PTW I added a second FP (Summer Palace), and with all three in place I effectively had a huge and unstoppable empire.

I think the guys at Firaxis don't want that and therefore have tried to sort this out in C3C, adding a benefit for FP and SPHQ but not an overwhelming benefit.

Does that sound about right?
thorpey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2, 2004, 12:58   #38
steven8r
Prince
 
steven8r's Avatar
 
Local Time: 09:21
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: May 2002
Location: of Central Texas
Posts: 561
Silly me. I can't even look at the code w/o getting a headache.

But thank you, Jesse, for the info.
Between your efforts and those of other posters here, I think I'm beginning to understand, or at least better appreciate y'all's efforts.

I just modded PTW so that almost all improvements reduced corruption. Of course, that made Court Houses and Police Stations less useful, but I could live with that.

I intend on playing several regular/patched C3C before making a new 'Low Corruption C3C Mod'--just so I can better appreciate the lower corruption when I play it.



Steven
__________________
"...Every Right implies a certain Responsibility; Every Opportunity, an Obligation; Every Possession, a Duty." --J.D. Rockerfeller, Jr.
steven8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2, 2004, 19:26   #39
Theseus
PtWDG Gathering StormApolyton UniversityApolytoners Hall of FameBtS Tri-LeagueC4DG Gathering StormApolyCon 06 Participants
Emperor
 
Theseus's Avatar
 
Local Time: 11:21
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The warmonger formerly known as rpodos. Gathering Storm!
Posts: 8,907
That's dedication... working on corruption on New Year's Day!

(as opposed to working on a hangover... or maybe BOTH)
__________________
The greatest delight for man is to inflict defeat on his enemies, to drive them before him, to see those dear to them with their faces bathed in tears, to bestride their horses, to crush in his arms their daughters and wives.

Duas uncias in puncta mortalis est.
Theseus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3, 2004, 14:55   #40
E_T
C3C IDG: Apolyton TeamCivilization III PBEMInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamC3CDG Team BabylonC4DG SarantiumCiv4 SP Democracy Game
Emperor
 
E_T's Avatar
 
Local Time: 11:21
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 8,807
Quote:
Originally posted by Sir Ralph
By the way, my proposed solution has one downside. It allows some kind of "negative capital related RCP", will say that if a city has the same rank relative to palace and FP, this rank exists only one time (and not twice as it should). Albeit this is a really minor "bug", it can be addressed too. The cleanest way to sort this out is to calculate all ranks relative to all capitals (you get n tables with ranks, n is the # of capitals) and then assign the ranks to cities one by one, beginning with the least. Cities, which have a rank assigned, shall then be removed out of all tables, that does the trick.

This sounds complicated, but it doesn't have to be recalculated every turn. Only if a city is built, a city is lost or a palace/FP/SPHQ is finished, it needs to be computed.
If that city has the same rank in comparison to the Palace AND the FP, then it should 'polarize' to the one that has the higher culture. That should fix that problem nicely....

E_T
__________________
Worship the Comic here!
Term IV Deputy Foreign Minister for Trade of Apolytonia, Term V CP & Term VI DM of Apolytonia, Term VII SMC of Apolytonia - SPDGI
Minister of the Interior of the PTW InterSite Demo Game
E_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3, 2004, 21:34   #41
Risa
Apolyton University
Warlord
 
Local Time: 23:21
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally posted by Sir Ralph


No. They both could get the same rank (1), if they are the closest to their particular capital. The whole sense of the action is, that every capital gets the whole set (1, 2, 3, 4, ...) of ranks. Your proposed method would share only one set of ranks between all capitals, for instance cities closer to Washington get rank 1, 4, 5, 6, ... and cities closer to Moscow get 2, 3, 7, 8, ... get it? That was roughly the same the FP worked in 1.0. People complained, and right so.
I see the point now. You are right that vanilla/PtW versions don't work like what I suggested.

However, I do think the new version is, at least, worth a try. In that version, building FP will weaken the original core (by raising several cities' rank), yet still strengthen the overall economy (by lowering distance corruption of the 2nd core).
Risa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21.


Design by Vjacheslav Trushkin, color scheme by ColorizeIt!.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Apolyton Civilization Site | Copyright © The Apolyton Team