Old January 12, 2004, 16:24   #1
Noctis
Settler

Local Time: 16:03
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Level of difficulty
I’m new here, and just thought I would start out by saying hi.

I just had a couple of questions. I’m new to Civ 3, and have only played a few games, all on Chieftain. It has become very apparent that I need to play on a harder level, but I am not sure how much harder they get with each increase in difficulty level. In my current game (as the French) I am in the 1300’s and am just about done researching technologies from the second era (age?). I have musketeers defending my cities, and swordsmen with longbowmen for offence. The best any of the other civs have is spearmen for defensive and swordsmen for offence.

While I don’t want to get my butt handed to me on a platter, I am also getting tired of listening to crickets chirping in the absence of conflict. To date I have never been attacked by another civ that I didn’t attack first, nor have any of the other civs attacked each other (unless I bribed one of them to attack another).

So these are my questions.
1. Will other civs become more likely to attack me and each other with an increase in the difficulty level?
2. Based on the information I have given with regards to my situation in the game, what difficulty level would you recommend I try next? (or is there more info you would need to know first?)

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Noctis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12, 2004, 16:34   #2
CerberusIV
lifer
C4WDG United Dungeon DwellersC4BtSDG Templars
Emperor

Local Time: 17:03
The likelihood of other civs attacking you depends on many things but on the higher levels they grow faster and, if they are strong enough, will become aggressive.