Old February 11, 2004, 01:23   #1
Mr. Harley
Prince

Local Time: 13:46
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Keeping the AI from starting Secret Projects
I'm new to CMNing, though I've made my own test scenarios in the past when I only did solo play. I am trying to make a tougher AI with good terraforming, extra initial research, and multiple bases. The problem is that it gives them too much of an advantage in completing SP's. So I set the Govenor's active and checked the box indicating the Govenor could not complete Secret Projects. I also queued base facilities that should have kept them busy for at least 20 years. No go. Those bases (mineral resources/mines) went ahead within the first five years and started them anyway. How can I do this while still leaving the AI in a non-conquer mode?
Mr. Harley: I'm afraid my people haven't. I'm very sorry… I wish it were otherwise.
Mr. Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11, 2004, 08:53   #2
Maniac
Alpha Centauri Democracy GameC4DG Team Alpha CentauriansACDG The Cybernetic ConsciousnessACDG Planet University of TechnologyPolyCast TeamACDG3 Spartans

Local Time: 19:46
In the alphax.txt reduce the importance of SPs to zero?
Old February 11, 2004, 09:16   #3
Mr. Harley
Prince

Will all of the players need to modify it also - this is PBEM, I've never tried to do anything serious with the alpha.txt.
Mr. Harley: I'm afraid my people haven't. I'm very sorry… I wish it were otherwise.
Old February 11, 2004, 10:07   #4
Maniac
Alpha Centauri Democracy GameC4DG Team Alpha CentauriansACDG The Cybernetic ConsciousnessACDG Planet University of TechnologyPolyCast TeamACDG3 Spartans

Hmm, can't say, I must admit. A lot (but not all) of things in the alphax.txt are kept in the save file, so that not every PBEM player has to get an edited alphax.txt, but AFAIK no one has tried changing the SP importance values yet.
Old February 12, 2004, 10:47   #5
Mr. Harley
Prince