Old February 17, 2004, 21:04   #1
Elok
Scenario League / Civ2-Creation
Emperor

Local Time: 14:05
Local Date: November 2, 2010
On originality
Just as a matter of personal opinion, how much do handmade graphics matter to you folks when judging the quality of a scenario? The reason I ask is that I'm not too good at graphics editing; given a sufficient length of time, I can make passable unit or other graphics, but they hardly compare to the stuff BeBro, Curtsibling et al are churning out, and it seems silly to go to the trouble of making graphics when existing ones will do the job better than any attempt of my own. Second, are there certain graphics sets that you are so sick of seeing over and over again that it makes you physically ill to see them in a scenario? I know about the importance of style cohesion, I mean are there some cool-looking graphics that are just used too much by too many people?

If I only had to worry about the text stuff, I'd have no problem finishing the scenarios I start...

EDIT: spelling.
"May I be forgiven for the ills that I have done/Friends I have forsaken and strangers I have shunned/Sins I have committed, for which others had to pay/And I haven't met the whiskey that can wash those stains away."
-Brady's Leap, "Wash."
Old February 17, 2004, 21:17   #2
Harry Tuttle
SporeScenario League / Civ2-Creation
King

Local Time: 13:05
I like new stuff myself. Using the unit sets out there is great, especially if you're going to do a scenario that already has a specific unit set made for that time period, but originality counts.

If I'm going to keep wanting to play a scenario based on the usual Civ2 dynamics there has to be a little somthing for me to want to come back to. Plus, some unit sets are over done.