Old February 25, 2004, 00:49   #1
Snowflake
ACDG3 SpartansACDG The Human HiveACDG3 Data AngelsACDG3 GaiansACDG3 MorganACDG3 CMNs
Princess

Local Time: 12:22
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Energy Park
I have never tried to build energy parks before and thought that it might be interesting to test the idea out now that one of my games has a nice mountain with 3500 attitude. I remember I have read through a thread where people have discussed the pros and cons of different designs of an energy park. But I couldn't find it using the search function. Would somebody still remember where to find it be so kind to direct me to it? Or better yet would somebody give me some ideas of different designs? I would greatly appreciate it!

Grapefruit Garden
Old February 25, 2004, 02:42   #2
johndmuller
Alpha Centauri PBEMACDG Peace
King

Local Time: 13:22
It is unfortunate that one can't effectively search for old stuff, as there is quite a lot of good material available if you can find it. There is also a great deal of and the occasional tidbits of incorrect info to dilute your searching pleasure. Another difficulty is that links to some posts and threads which might attract one's interest in older threads are dysfunctional, perhaps due to database and/or software upgrades or reorganizations.

I've never made a study of it myself, but I have read some of those threads - I think the basic design is to create a big plateau at 3500m, fully solared with a good number of E-Mirrors (I would think it worthwhile to through in a few drill-to-aquifers too), the resulting energy crawled to your HQ most likely. In the threads, they discuss optimal ratios of solars to mirrors - it might be as high as 50-50, but I don't really remember for sure, in any case, it shouldn't be too hard to reinvent that wheel.

Other issues revolve around economics (like putting a base or bases nearby to keep the cost of raising terrain down) and protection (from those nasty envious enemies).