Old March 14, 2004, 05:09   #1
Rommel2D
staff
Civilization III PBEMIron Civers

Local Time: 14:10
Local Date: November 2, 2010
March Madness!
I've been playing Civilization for over ten years now. I've usually been fascinated by the game, and I've usually been disappointed by the competition. The rules are designed to make you believe your opponents are intelligent like you, but it is readily apparent they are not. While playing the game may be about nurturing cities and commanding units, winning strategy actually comes from unraveling a complex series of algorithms that make up an artificial intelligence. Somehow this puppet show always fell short of what I expected from the program. Bring on the actors!

When Civ2 multiplayer came out, I was without regular internet access. Once I found stable access, SMAC was the latest offering, so I tried that. Play by Email seemed to be what I was looking for, and to an extent it was. Unfortunately, by the time I started to really get into my first game, I had my net access again interrupted. And then came Civ3...

Over the last year I've finally experienced the whole PBEM experience. Early on, I tried some online MP, but the simultaneous moves thing isn't really what I'm looking for, and few people seem interested in online turn based games. The PBEM games offer what I want when they move at a good pace, but I have yet to experience this pace over the span of an entire game. Interest seems to inevitably wane over time and the games just end up lingering around in limbo.

At the beginning of this year, a tournament was started for PBEM players. It consists of five games of four players each, with the winners of each to play a final five player championship game. This has given me the best PBEM game I've been in yet, averaging over a turn per day. Unfortuantely, some of the other games are barely managing a turn a week. This lack of synchronicity looks forboding, but only time will tell.