Old November 2, 1999, 20:01   #1
Monkey
King

Local Time: 07:06
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Does playing civ change your perspective on gaming?
First of all i had to get this out of my chest as I've been thinking about it ever since i bought civ2, CTP and SMAC. The question I am asking is:

Does playing civ games change your whole perception on games?

First a bit of history about myself and my gaming history. Some of you might have heard a condensed form already on the civ2 forum.

I started playing PC games when I was eleven. That was when my dad bought me an XT during the era of the 286/386. The first PC game I'd ever played was the secret of Monkey Island and back then it blew my mind away. A wonderful blend of humour, complex puzzles and great storyline at a time when i was playing arcadey console games. I was so rapt on Monkey Island that i decided to buy every adventure game out there including most of the classic sierra ones... space quest, police quest, leisure suit larry.

A year later my family got a new 386 computer for the next 3 years I saw more adventure games along the likes of Monkey Island 2, Leisure larry 5, Heart of China. It was adventure paradise at its best. It was at that stage that I decided that the PC was only good for adventure games(and flight sims but only because a friend in school kept telling me how good flight sims were and for some reason I tried real hard to like flight sims) and the consoles were built for arcade games. The only exception was Wing Commander 2 which I would put on my top ten list of games which addicted me the most. Around this era the all time classic streetfighter 2 was out around that time and I rated it as one of the best games I'd ever played at that time.