Old August 20, 2000, 11:59   #1
Nazgul
Settler

Local Time: 03:53
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Does CTP2 plan to control ICS?
Salutation,

From what i could understand : ICS seems to relate to the overcontroled spamming of cities without much penalities therefore giving the player an unfair advantage over the AI (correct me if i'm wrong)

SMAC had a quick and dirty solution for that kind of problem but it still allowed too much ICS from my point of view.

So does CTP2 have a better solution or will rely on the same principle of SMAC?

My personnal idea of a solution was to have to build a main capital (city improvement) that would allow the construction of more smaller capitals (province) that would permit a much larger and uniform control over the empire.

Mind you, main and smaller capitals would cost money to build and to maintain (drawing much ressources) buraucraty being such as it is. So that player or AI would not over do it too much.

*I am kind of new to all that civilisation stuff (SMAC being my first civ game) so forgive me if that question was already answered somewhere before or if i'm way off of topic here*

Nazgul
Old August 20, 2000, 17:12   #2
Big Dave
Call to Power II MultiplayerCTP2 Source Code Project
Prince

Local Time: 02:53
The other part of the problem is that one settler creates one city with 2 population. so by costing a different city one pop (losing one tile worked) you get 2 tiles worked at a new location. This is one reason the AI always packs it's cities so close together: Moving a settler is wasting production time on the new tiles.