Old December 9, 2000, 16:26   #1
David Murray
Prince

Local Time: 09:10
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Let me just say this...
Hello,

Now before I begin, this is my first post here, but don't think about using the "you're a newbie!" kind of tactic against me. I've been lurking in these CTP2 boards since they began, pretty much, and I have been lurking around in the CTP1 forums before then. I started playing CIV2 about 3 years ago and have been playing CTP1 and 2 since they came out. So now that we've got that cleared up, let's move on.

I'm in the UK and I bought this game on Friday. I was eager to get my hands on it, having been following Apolyton's CTP2 site, and reading all the previews, getting excited by the new interface, diplomacy and generally supposed improved functions.

I should also mention at this point, I've never understood why people hated CTP1 so much. It was a little buggy, but I liked it. It was a damn good game. So I expected big things from CTP2.

First off, the layout is nothing like being better. No longer do I get little popups telling me what's been built, where. I have to guess what's been built, or look in all my cities to see what's been built, because I can't centre on it. The interface is NOT an improvement, it's mearly been made much more complicated. The gaming press's obsession with saying the new layout is miles better is simply stupifying.