Old January 28, 2001, 19:08   #1
skorpion59
Prince

Local Time: 03:20
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Community Forums
quote:

Originally posted by MarkG on 01-28-2001 06:55 AM
threads for general gaming articles like this are placed here cause this still remains the "Community" forum

That is interesting. I can't say I ever thought the Civ2 forum was the Community forum, not even back in my Civ2 days when I actually went to the Civ2 forums. Shouldn't a community forum be an unbiased forum that everybody visits every time they are here. The only forum close to that would be the Apolyton forum, wouldn't it?

All that aside, I enjoyed reading Pyaray's article. Hopefully, it has helped to open some people's eyes a little. Being a programmer, I am constantly amazed people think we can turn out 100,000 lines of bug-free code in just a few hours. They simply can't understand what a massive undertaking most programming projects are.

Thanks again Pyaray.
Old January 28, 2001, 19:26   #2
MarkG

the civ2-general being the "community" forum is left over of our first days...

Old January 28, 2001, 23:08   #3
Dale
Emperor

Local Time: 19:20
quote:

Originally posted by skorpion59 on 01-28-2001 06:08 PMBeing a programmer, I am constantly amazed people think we can turn out 100,000 lines of bug-free code in just a few hours. They simply can't understand what a massive undertaking most programming projects are.

Here here, I agree. And I'm only a part time programmer! Don't know much about DirectX yet, but I'm getting there.

------------------
Author of Diplomod. The mod to fix diplomacy.

Rommell to a sub-commander outside Tobruk: "Those Australians are in there somewhere. But where? Let's advance and wait till they shoot, then shoot back."
Old January 29, 2001, 00:07   #4
MidKnight Lament
King

I was wondering about the "community forum" myself. That's the first time I've ever even been in there.

------------------
- MKL ... "And a sun that doesn't set but settles" - Augie March