But... war is fun =)

------------------
Goober
Old July 5, 2000, 07:34   #32
F_Smith
Prince

Local Time: 09:34
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Short version: I would not care for a 'merger'. Both teams should read what the other has, and use what they like, tho. And colaborate on theorizing, too (all opinions are important, and a free exchange of ideas is one of the biggest goals of 'Clash', I think). But the coding thing alone will put Clash in a whole different world, in my opinion. One of Clash's strongest selling points will be as one of the first 'civ' games in Java. Since eventually, they all will be . . .

I am pretty certain Mark agrees about coding in Java, too, but we'll have to wait for him.

Long version:
(*Warning* -- techie rant follows)

1) As a paid Java professional, I would have to agree that Clash does not yet have a solid working base of code. The architecture is going to have to be largely redone, as they try to add much of the complexity in they're shooting for. It is/will continue to evolve.

2) But C++, superior to Java? Other that speed, in what way? The only plus for C++ is in one insignificant area -- hard core number crunching for something like 3d grafix (which we do *not* plan to get into, right?). And even that is closing fast, with the new JIT vm's and the Java 2d and 3d api's.

Within 5 years, C++ programmers will be forced to learn Java anyway, since 80% of all new development is now in Java. Java developers will not need to learn C++ at all (except maybe to re-write an old C++ system!).

The biggest gains in using Java (there are others) would be:

a) speed of development (It takes two to three times longer to write something in C++)
b) networking (in C++ is a nightmare, and very limited, compared to what Java can do)
c) debugging (C++ has like a million more things that can go wrong, especially with memory management).