Old December 12, 2000, 19:40   #1
Alpha Wolf
Chieftain

Local Time: 09:44
Local Date: October 31, 2010
cREATING LAKES AND EXTENDING SHORELINES
I figured there had to be a way tocreate lakes and extend shorelines, so I started playing around with the tileimp.txt file. I figured no one would ever terraform into a white_mountain so i used it since I'm not sure of all the places I have to add new names. I modified it as follows:
TILEIMP_TERRAFORM_WHITE_MOUNTAIN {
Icon ICON_TILEIMP_FARMS
Tooltip TOOLTIP_TILEIMP_SELECT_WHITE_MOUNTAIN_BUTTON
Statusbar STATUSBAR_TILEIMP_SELECT_WHITE_MOUNTAIN_BUTTON
TerraformTerrain TERRAIN_WATER_BEACH
Level 3
Column 3
Class:Terraform
GLHidden

ConstructionTiles 1
ConstructionTiles 1
ConstructionTiles 1

CantBuildOn TERRAIN_WATER_DEEP
CantBuildOn TERRAIN_WATER_KELP
CantBuildOn TERRAIN_WATER_REEF
CantBuildOn TERRAIN_WATER_RIFT
CantBuildOn TERRAIN_WATER_SHALLOW
CantBuildOn TERRAIN_WATER_SHELF
CantBuildOn TERRAIN_WATER_TRENCH
CantBuildOn TERRAIN_WATER_VOLCANO

Excludes:ATM
Excludes:Farm
Excludes:LandDetector
Excludes:Mine
Excludes:OceanATM
Excludes:OceanDetector
Excludes:OceanFarm
Excludes:OceanMine
Excludes:OceanRoad
Excludes:Road
Excludes:Structure1
Excludes:Structure2

TerrainEffect {
Terrain TERRAIN_WATER_BEACH

EnableAdvance ADVANCE_EXPLOSIVES
TilesetIndex 1
}
}
And I can now make inland lakes and extend the shore. Best part is that CtP2 is smart enough to modify the tiles surrounding the new beach so that it still looks contiguous. These new tiles can be built on and are treated as if they had always been that way. The only thing I wish is that I could increase the cost somewhat. If someone knows how to change all the constants to make them more consistant with this being a beach, please let me know.

As for now, I'm off to build my canals

------------------
History is written by the victor.
Old December 12, 2000, 19:48   #2
wheathin
Prince

Cool!