Old February 26, 2000, 22:09   #1
Peacemaker
Prince

Local Time: 23:31
Local Date: October 30, 2010
First city
I am new to civ2 and would like some advice from the experts.

I build my first city in the first couple of turns most of the time. I have learned from this site that this is not always the best thing to do. What I would like to know, on average how long does it take you to build your first city and are there any special recources you look for during a normal game vs. the AI.

My whole game counts on this

------------------
Don't let the name fool you!!!
Old February 26, 2000, 23:40   #2
Caesar the Great
Emperor

Local Time: 18:31
The first time I saw your name I thought it was pacemaker
Old February 27, 2000, 01:11   #3
klesh
King

Local Time: 19:31
I usually move ony two or three turns max bofore I build my first city. If I don't find anything good, I have a tendancy to just restart.
IMHO the best early terrain bonuses are:
Whale- good mix of food/shield.
Wheat- great food for growing city.
Fish- good food off the bat, add a harbor...

then some other good ones for a little later...
Wine- build the mine and collect trade.
Gold- trade trade trade trade trade. A must have for the Super Science City. If you don't know what that is, look for it in the archives...you can get 600+ beakers in one city per turn! One magical time I got 2 in the same spot right off the start!

Try to get spots that have two, or three bonuses. they are by far the most important spots. Learn the shape of the city screen. And figure out the best spot to build and get all possible bonuses.
Old February 27, 2000, 01:35   #4
Black Bart

I used to always build where they put me, but from advice here, I sometimes look around for a better spot. If there is a hut nearby I usually will pop it. It's great when I get a unit, it will be a none unit. Allows for great early exploration. I also try to get at least 1 bonus square, preferribly 2.