Old January 22, 2001, 08:54   #1
admiralk
Chieftain

Local Time: 04:51
Local Date: October 31, 2010
SLIC questions
I have a copule of questions on SLIC before i make my scenario.

1.Does SLIC have anything like triggers? I don't know but i an good at using triggers in other games. If so
where can i get a list of cause and effects.

2.Using SLIC can u control the AI on certain turns, like making them move units here and there.

3.Can u control diplomatic relationships between civs, by using SLIC.

If anyone can help me i would be most grateful.
Old January 22, 2001, 09:00   #2
MarkG

check the slic documentation in our modification pages in the ctp2 section

Old January 22, 2001, 11:43   #3
Radical_Manuvr
Chieftain

Local Time: 09:51
I'm not sure exactly what you mean by triggers, but there are a lot of "events" like capture city, move units, etc. that you can use to cause other stuff to happen.

I'm pretty new to using SLIC and haven't tried making the AI move units. I think (but I'm really just guessing since I haven't tried) that is one of the more difficult things to do with SLIC. I'm sure there are either functions or events for it though. Probably functions.

As far as I know you can't do things like alliances, pacts and such. You can increase or decrease the regard level.

I found reading the SLIC documentation on Apolyton and looking through the different scenario.slc, function, msg, and mod files very helpful.
Old January 22, 2001, 16:18   #4
Dale
Emperor

Local Time: 19:51
admiralk:

1. Yes.
2. Take a look at frenzy AI mod for ideas.
3. Take a look at Diplomod for ideas.

------------------
Author of Diplomod. The mod to fix diplomacy.

Rommell to a sub-commander outside Tobruk: "Those Australians are in there somewhere. But where? Let's advance and wait till they shoot, then shoot back."
Old January 22, 2001, 21:56   #5
admiralk
Chieftain

Local Time: 04:51