Old July 31, 2000, 08:06   #1
Aislyn
Settler

Local Time: 23:40
Local Date: October 30, 2010
trade question
Hey all. I just started playing Civ 2 last week so I'm very much a newbie! I've read through many posts here and have found them very helpful -- I don't think I'll ever forget this as long as I live: when you have enough of caravans, build more caravans!

Anyway, my question is, when I trade with other civilizations, I get a lot of benefit from this, but so are the other civilizations??? Is that a bad thing, helping out your opponents like this?

- Aislyn
Old July 31, 2000, 08:30   #2
jpk
Prince

Aislyn:

The other civilization will get a trade route, just like you. What you get but the AI civilization does not get is the money and science bonus for the trade route. In my opinion these are the most important benefits of trade.

If you are worried about helping the AI civilizations too much then only deliver caravans to one of their cities. That way any civilization will have no more than three trade routes with your civilization.

If you get obsessed with tipping every goodie hut on the planet you will end up with cities scattered all over the world. Then you could trade between your own cities. You will get a greater bonus if the source and destination for a caravan are on different continents.

Personally I wouldn't worry about helping the AI. The bonus that you get for delivering a caravan of needed goods to an AI city on a different continent than the source is extremely valuable. The bonus can easily be worth several turns worth of science that ALL your cities can produce.