Old June 25, 2001, 23:40   #1
Exile
Scenario League / Civ2-Creation
King

Local Time: 06:07
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Dll questions
Ok, I downloaded the dll gadget, gif-X-tractor and I wanna change the leader pictures in a scenario that is being developed. But the instructions simply are not adequate to get me started.

1.) Is a separate folder required? Do I have to place substitute dlls in a folder within the scenario folder?

2.) If so, how do I "get at" the original dlls that are default?

3.) Ok, I admit it. I'm an historian and game designer, not a computer whiz. Could someone run me throught the gif-X-tractor routine just once with an example so that I can see exactly how it is done?

Thanks in advance,
Exile
"Jesus" avatars created by Mercator and Laszlo.
Old June 26, 2001, 21:18   #2
shamrock
Warlord

Local Time: 11:07
Actually it's really easy, Exile - here's an example from the scenario I just created, "ATLANTIS: The Lost Empire ."

1. Start Gif Xtractor

2. Select "File | Open"

3. Select the .dll file you wish to edit. This file will be in your civ root directory. For this example, I've chosen "ss.dll"

4. You should now see a listing of 46 images:

Image #1 80824
Image #46 244268

5. You may recognize image#1 as the backdrop for the spaceship

6. This is the image that I want to replace, so I select "Image | Save Gif(s)..."

7. I use this GIF file as a template for the image I want to replace it with, making certain that it doesn't exceed the max size (80824 bytes). Instead of a spaceship, I want the player to build a Deep-Sea Submersible instead of a spaceship, but I can't have the submersible being built in space so I pick a more fitting backdrop.

8. Now I select "Image | Load Gif..." and load up this file.

9. I save the ss.dll and voila, this is the result:

Hope that helps!

Last edited by shamrock; June 26, 2001 at 21:23.
Old June 26, 2001, 23:39   #3
Exile
King

Exquisite!
Your spaceship/submarine is a wonder! beautiful!