Old June 28, 2001, 04:43   #1
StarGazer
Chieftain

Local Time: 03:10
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Diplomacy -- How Long, oh Lord?
This is my first game of any CTP game. I'm using the MM2 version (minus the upgrade that was posted just a day or so ago).

So that I could learn the game rules, etc., I set it to Medium Level, 5 Civs (Americans, English, Scots, Arabs, American Indians), next-to-easiest Barbarians, Huge map. I control the Americans.

As it turned out, each civ is on a separate island-continent.

Anyway, we are now at 1803 C.E. (403 turns). We Americans are far, far ahead of the other civs. So I'm beginning to see why all of you play at the Impossible level. But, hey, it's OK. I'm still learning what this game is all about. I'll do the Impossible thing my next game.

Anyway, enough background. My question concerns the diplomod.

I'm aiming for a diplomatic alliance victory, so I've been courting all of the civs since the very beginning of the game, exchanging maps and advances -- and, for the most part, offering a civ 100 gold every time I see that its "diplomatic happiness" icon needs a bit of happiness boosting (about once every 5 turns).

I have been able to establish a Peace Treaty with all of them, and a Trade Pact with everyone but the English. I have never broken either the Peace Treaty or the Trade Pact; neither have they.

The English and the American Indians declared war on each other about 200 turns ago and remain enemies, fighting it out on Indian soil. The Scots and the Arabs evidently don't know that any other civ exists except mine.

The Scots' regard varies between loving and admiring, and they have trusted us Americans completely for about 300 turns.

The Arabs' and the American Indians' regard also varies between loving and admiring, but they remain vigilant, even though we have had a Peace Treaty for about 200 turns.