Old September 27, 2000, 20:46   #1
Hannibal3

Perfectionists Anonymous
I have been playing Civ II for about two years now. Unfortunately, I seem to have a problem. Usually games end with me having launched a space ship in the early twentieth century, most of the AI civs are allied against me, and there's usually one civ I've taken huge bites out of. I think the trouble is that I tend to focus too much internal improvements. I really didn't have that much of a problem with it until my uncle (a Civ I vet) took over the whole world by the discovery of Gunpowder in Civ II on his first try. Then I have a friend who just got it and when I found out how quickly in the game he conquered some people, I realized I needed help...

So I have a few questions about your own methods:

A. How quickly do you found your first 5 cities? (In turns)

B. Will you attack an enemy immediately after discovering them even if you haven't got the force to take them immediately?

C. After taking over a civilization, how long do you wait before attacking the next? (What I mean is how soon do you start war preparations?)

D. When on an isolated land mass, how quickly do send out a ship to explore new continents? And when exploring new continents, what units do you take along with you?

E. When do you start building Marketplaces?

F. When you build a wonder, do you use your big production cities for the wonder, or do you leave them to produce units?

G. When do you start building tile improvements?

H. In the very early years before Gunpowder, what units do you find preferable for taking out walled cities?

------------------
"...The highest realization of warfare is to attack the enemy's plans; next is to attack their alliances; next to attack their army; and the lowest is to attack their fortified cities." - Sun Tzu

Old September 27, 2000, 23:04   #2
Zagbo
Warlord

Local Time: 23:44
Local Date: October 30, 2010