Old December 14, 2000, 06:34   #1
Rufus T. Firefly
King

Local Time: 19:49
Local Date: October 30, 2010
Critique my upper-level SP strategy
I started playing Civ2 on ToT about 6 months ago, and have been trying to play at higher and higher levels. Winning at King is now fairly easy, and I can win at Emperor, too. But I don't like how I win at Emperor, and that's where I need advice. My problem is the outrageous aggressiveness of the AI (notorious, apparently, in ToT). This manifests itself in two ways that have an impact on my game: I have to play expecting constant warfare, and I have to expect that the AI will generally refuse to swap techs with me while the AI civs aggressively swap with each other. This latter tendency leaves me well behind technologically by mid-game, even if I build an SSC (and I always do). To cope with this, I've developed the following strategy; it works, but I don't like it. I offer it to you for comments and criticisms:

Firefly's Lame-o Emperor Game-o (just the high (?) points - note that new territory and trade routes are being developed at all points here)
1. Get bronze working; build Colossus
2. Meanwhile, get Monarchy and switch.
So far, so good; but now comes problem #1
3. Get the Great Library. I have never needed the GL before, but it seems the only way to keep up with those tech-swapping AIs; without it, their military gets way ahead of mine, and I'm toast by the Middle Ages.
4. Try for Hanging Gardens, generally failing because of the need to build the GL; switch to Marco Polo when someone beats me to it.
5. With GL keeping me up in techs, the mid-game looks more familiar: build an SSC, get and build Mike's Chapel and Leo's Workshop at all costs, and Adam Smith's and Bach's if possible.
But now comes the real disappointment…