Old January 19, 2001, 01:01   #31
La Fayette
Apolytoners Hall of FameCivilization II Succession Games
King

Local Time: 00:50
Local Date: October 31, 2010
debeest
Thanks a lot.
But you can keep your hat on: I was madly in love when I started learning norwegian ( and we say "pléonasme" in french).
Old January 19, 2001, 09:18   #32
East Street Trader
Prince

Local Time: 23:50
Local Date: October 30, 2010
Ah, to be taught Norwegian by a beautiful and amicable lady! Even I might learn a few things.

In fact, there was this Dutch girl once - but it was 30 odd years ago and the words have all gone. As I recall we never made it to sentences and I think there was only one verb.

Gotta be the best way to learn a language.

Maybe a really progressive school could adopt the method.
Old January 19, 2001, 10:13   #33
Carolus Rex
Civilization II MultiplayerCivilization II PBEM
Emperor

Local Time: 01:50
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Heh, heh, heh!

Norwegian girls are indeed easy on the eyes! Lovely language too...

A friend of mine visited Utrecht, Holland, when his girlfriend studied there for a couple of months. He told me the girls there were very beatuiful and elegant. Luckily for me I have another friend who is going to spend two years in Utrecht, so I may get an opportunity to find out for myself!

As for scouting, it is the absence of scouting that is a luxury and a very dangerous one too. Huts only have one truly bad outcome IMHO, techs distorting the tech path to monarchy/republic. I think the trick is to adapt to the tech you get. I don't like pre-monarchy warrior code either (in fact I hate it), but on the other hand it's one tech less to STWA. Surely, even beavers waging wars forever must appreciate that?!