Old August 30, 2001, 08:38   #1
MorganFreak
Settler

Local Time: 07:56
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Couple of Q:s
First off, I'd like to say hey to everybody and that I've enjoyed this site so far. Secondly, I have a few questions about diplomacy in SMAC. It seems like no matter what I do (especially when I'm trying to do the OCC), the AI players come after me anyway. For instance, last night I tried the OCC on Transcend, and I made it 300 years into the game. I had a city cranking out 100 energy and had a spotless diplomatic rating. I'd only ever been to war once, even. I was the third most powerful faction. Then all of the sudden, all but two of the AI players declared vendetta on me and I got wiped out. WHY?

Another question...this one technical. I'm running SMAC (patch 4.0) and the program keeps locking up on me randomly. I have an Athlon Thunderbird 900, 512MB of RAM and an ATA100 Hard drive. Oh yeah, I'm running an ATI video card as well. I have the sound turned off, as well as the videos, etc. Any ideas?

Thanks!
Old August 30, 2001, 13:42   #2
RedFred
ACDG3 Gaians
King

Local Time: 05:56
On OCC, I am not sure I understood your 100 credits comment. Is that from surplus cash after expenses, from stockpile energy or from trade income?

Diplomatically I have found OCC much easier than regular games because you get a diplo bonus for being further down on the might chart. Are you giving tech to your friends to keep them buttered up? Have you selected a SE that does not conflict with your nearest neighbours? This is easier in SMACX because you can (slight cheat?) pick six factions that will be the least likely to go to war with you.

Or five factions. My most successful OCC games involve an eventual war with a distant faction. It seems that long periods of total peace will eventually lead to a period where one or several factions will attack you. But if you are in perpetual war after midgame with a faction that can't reach you anyway, this doesn't seem to happen.