Old September 4, 2001, 15:46   #31
Gramphos
staff
Civilization III MultiplayerC4WDG Team ApolytonCivilization IV: MultiplayerAge of Nations TeamC4BtSDG Realms BeyondCivilization IV Creators
Technical Director

Local Time: 15:03
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Re: Re: Re: Who else is worried that Civ3 will be too different from civ2?
Quote:
Originally posted by GP
And the movies and advisors gave the game a special feel when I was a newbie. I could do without them now...but doesn't Sid want to attract new players?
So he makes something that isn't common for all games. That can attract new players that are bored of the standard game
Old September 4, 2001, 16:08   #32
Admiral PJ
PtWDG Lux Invicta
Prince

Local Time: 13:03
There are advisors in civ3, at least 1, and the computer generated actors probably act better than their real world counterparts would be able to
Old September 4, 2001, 16:23   #33
tuckson
Warlord

Local Time: 14:03
Quote:
hopefully 4 will be a full3D game with realtime battle scenes
Oh No,

For Heavens sake, NO 3D
Anything, but not that...

-------------------------------><------------------------------

Last edited by tuckson; September 4, 2001 at 16:31.
Old September 4, 2001, 18:11   #34
lockstep
Apolyton University
King

Local Time: 14:03
Quote:
Originally posted by OneFootInTheGrave
Civ 3 is a conservative sequel... so the whol egame was not revamped in the search of a revolution... the changes that were made seem to be good, and they are definitley not too different from civ II. I guess this will be civ II with few major new fetatures (resources/ culture/ special units), and ther rest is just made better ( graphics/ trade/war/ AI -I guess).
While not revolutional, Civ3 IMO includes quite a lot of new features. Some things I´ve spotted so far from the numerous previews (and I´m talking only about gameplay):
  • Major new features: Resources, culture, civ-specific abilities, armies, borders, enhanced diplomacy, alternate paths to victory.