Old March 29, 2001, 15:04   #1
lord of the mark
Deity

Local Time: 19:55
Local Date: October 30, 2010
Most important learning for improving my game

like many here i am a beginner deity player (able to win occasionally against the AI on deity, 1970 or later) I tend toward a mix of perfectionism and conservative expansionism. Lately have used matthews guide to help at start.

It seems like there are so many things to learn in order to become a better player. Oedo years, trade bonus values, incremental rush buying techniques, refined research strategies, terrain transformation strategies, riot factors, etc. What do you suggest as the most important one to learn? What was the key learning that helped you go from beginner deity to advanced deity play?

Lord of the Mark
Old March 29, 2001, 15:14   #2
DaveV
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
King

One word - ICS. I know many consider it an abomination, but I think everyone should play at least one pure ICS game. You will learn that the game can be won by pure expansion. It also teaches you how to live without city improvements that you've heretofore considered indispensable, and how not to fear Elvis. Most of the good players expand like rabbits in the early game; that's the only way to outstrip the AIs' production advantages.
Old March 29, 2001, 16:08   #3
George Garrett
Warlord

Local Time: 15:55
I would add to that excellent advice, use caravans only for Wonders in the game's early stages, save trading for later,when you're more or less consolidated and settled, and the farthest cities have grown faraway, and fat.
My favourite example: ICS as Brits on large world map 8-9 cities on British Isles, as many on Europe as AI allows, then, when all secure, trade with the U.S.A.who, while you've been building Wonders, have built many cities, each far more prosperous than yours,and yielding high prices, by then, for the stuff you send over.
Old March 29, 2001, 17:01   #4
lord of the mark
Deity

quote: