Old April 23, 2001, 22:29   #1
Alexander's Horse

Why do players find Deity so difficult?
Is it the unhappiness? The lack of turns? Is it less enjoyable? There seem to be 2 camps, those who only play Deity and those that don't.

------------------
Founder, Dear Leader and Great Helmsman of the People's Republic of Topics www.delphi.com/prot1

Old April 23, 2001, 23:24   #2
RyanR
Warlord

Local Time: 15:57
Local Date: October 30, 2010
I find Deity un enjoyable. It seems that you only need one screw up to really end the game. You are playing on such a fine line between death and sucess. With Prince and King, the two levels I have been playing for years, you can get some great end-games without the hassel of constantly being on watch for rioting, aquiring NONE units early on, and generally playing at your very best.

Hmm.. well maybe that was not the best explanation. Anyway, I am in the "other camp" you described, even though I have been playing Civ1 and 2 for 8 or 9 years.
Old April 23, 2001, 23:30   #3
finbar
Civilization II MultiplayerMac
Emperor

Local Time: 01:57
Local Date: October 31, 2010
I suspect, also, a fear element. I avoided Deity level for quite a while in the early days. Probably on the basis that, being the most difficult level, there had to be something monstrously difficult about it.

The reality is that it's just more difficult in certain areas. Some argue that you're rooted without the Happy Wonders but it has been proved time and time again that you can succeed without them. It's simply that having them makes life a lot easier. I might also argue, BTW, that having the Happy Wonders can also lead to laziness. Having to deal without them certainly keeps you on your toes.

------------------
Founder, ACS Pedantry Institute
Founder, ACS Gourmet Recipe Exchange
Horse and Hydey Wrangler
Mono Rules!
Old April 24, 2001, 01:59   #4
TCO
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
Emperor

Local Time: 13:57