Old October 5, 2001, 00:08   #1
rwprice
Warlord

Local Time: 09:09
Local Date: October 31, 2010
How do I get started?
I'm just starting to learn this game, and I'm not sure where to begin. When I start a GC, I wind up just staring at the map, not knowing what to do first. Can anyone give me some first steps? Do I build more military units? I'm surrounded by other countries, so I don't think I want to go to war right away. I'd sure appreciate some pointers. Thanks.
rwprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5, 2001, 01:16   #2
yin26
inmate
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
Born Again Optimist

Local Time: 10:09
First: What country are you?

In general, the first thing you should do as a new player is pause the game and click through the icons the left (the little tree, the pile of coins, the helmet, the shield, etc.). I remember being most confused at first look because the default view is showing the terrain conditions of all the provinces and NOT who owns them.

Anyway, if you are comfortable with the game mechanics, the first strategic thing to do is exactly what you have done: Decide if you want war or will have to fight one soon. Again, you can check the nations' relationships with you through the diplomacy icon. From here, it totally depends on the nation you picked:

Spain would start colonizing, for example.
England would start building an econ and stabalizing itself.

I'm no expert, but I'll give ya any help I can.

"Yin": Your friendly, neighborhood negative cosmic force.
yin26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5, 2001, 02:55   #3
Dale
Emperor

Local Time: 00:09
Local Date: November 1, 2010
One quick tip I worked out late (der) is this: