Old March 25, 2000, 23:49   #1
Jatdrago
Settler

Local Time: 00:05
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Editing the online Civilopedia
Hello All. I'm a newbie. What I'd like to know is there a way to edit the online pedia to show the effects of Theocracy, my version of Fundamentalism. I've made it able to support only six units for free. I've already changed the pedia.txt, but that had no effect on the online. Thanks for any help.
Old March 26, 2000, 00:48   #2
Cam
King

Local Time: 09:35
With the default game, when consulting the civilopedia, the game refers to the contents in the folder C:\Mps\Civ2\Pedia, which contains an array of files that it's generally recommended not to edit.

Recommended path

For scenarios and modpacks however (being games not played from the default C:\Mps\Civ2 folder, but another folder), the civilopedia will first look for the text file 'pedia.txt' in that other folder.

As such, the game you are creating should be saved in a different folder to the default save folder - ideally a newly created folder that is a 'sub-folder' of C:\Mps\Civ2 such as C:\Mps\Civ2\My_mod that contains the modified 'pedia.txt' file (i.e. where the 'TEN' has been changed to 'SIX').

When the game is loaded from this new folder ('My_mod'), the new civilopedia will be the one referred to, not the default one.

Not-so-much recommended path

For the answer to your question that is prone to making lasting changes in your civilopedia and not recommended for modpacks (unless you are the only one who will use your modpack), you can edit the file C:\Mps\Civ2\Pedia\Govern.pde using Notepad. These changes will be made to your game of Civ2 only, and unlike the first approach, if you send your modpack to other Civ2 fans, these changes to the 'pedia won't go with the rest of the package (easily).
[This message has been edited by Cam (edited March 26, 2000).]
Old March 26, 2000, 02:48   #3
Jatdrago
Settler