Old November 1, 2001, 12:42   #1
Oldenbarnevelt
Chieftain

Local Time: 16:45
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Is Large Map (spaceship) harder or easier?
When reading this forum, I get the impression that the larger the map, the harder it is to win (not only conquer/bloodlust, also space race).

I'm still learning this game. Last week I played my first two games at King level. In the first one (NORMAL map, 7 civs, restless tribes), I had a hard time winning. The Spanish launched before me, but by building the fastest ship (33/8,8/1,1,1), I arrived two years before them, in 1968. I had to sell many improvements though, exhausted my 10,000 gold in rushbuying, got nuked several times and lost some cities between launch and arrival.
In the second game (LARGE map, 7 civs, raging hordes), I was allowed to develop with hardly any enemy interference. I now reached AC 85 years earlier, in 1883, the other civs were far away, many large islands and subcontinents were still unoccupied, with lots of goodie huts intact.
So does this mean that in a space race game, the larger the map, the easier it is to win?
Old November 1, 2001, 14:51   #2
Xin Yu
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
King

Local Time: 07:45
It's two sided. Science advances will need more beakers. However you'll have more huts to pop, and you can set up a more profitable two-continental trading system since trade bonus increases with distance. So if you explore more at the beginning and trade more in later stages, you'll probably find larger maps easier for spaceship race.
Old November 2, 2001, 04:07   #3
Smash
Emperor

Local Time: 07:45
I don't think it matters nearly as much as the terrain and in particular specials you have to work with.
A large map with good terrain is probably easier than a small map on dirt and rocks.
Terrain is everything.
Old November 2, 2001, 09:20   #4
Rufus T. Firefly
King

Local Time: 11:45