Old November 7, 2001, 19:15   #1
Kristjan
Warlord

Local Time: 16:18
Local Date: October 31, 2010
An attempt of review
Hello

Since I have seldom written to Apolyton forums, I use a chance to introduce myself here.

I have been playing PC strategy games for 10 years from now, starting with Warldors 1.00, there were some Commodore games before that. I have played Warldords series, Warcraft, Steel Empires 1, MOO 1, Civ1, Civ2, KOEI Gengis Khan and maybe some others of minor importance that have escaped my mind by now and mastered them to a level where AI has no chance of winning even if I started with serious handicaps. Besides that, I am an average chessplayer. I am enjoyed testing SG's AI weak and strong points for years.

Below I will list civ3's new features compared to civ2 and give my opinion on these. I will use Smilie icons for that -- for "better than civ2" and for "worse than civ2", ranging from one smilie to three smilies. means neutral attitude.

1) Stronger military AI. Needs to be tested further. AI definitely is stronger in Civ3 than in Civ2 but it is still no mach to experienced player.
1a) Usage of navy. AI uses its navy to take its armed forces behind enemy lines even if it has land connection with the opponent. .
1b) AI tactic abilities improved. AI tries to destroy infrastructure and find weak points in enemy lines. It is still far from tactic abilities needed to beat human, espescially in defence missions where it is definitely too passive.