Old November 9, 2001, 18:26   #1
Peter Triggs
CTP2 Source Code ProjectCivilization IV Creators
King

Local Time: 16:24
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Getting Started With SLIC
Step 0:

It's probably about time we made it a bit easier for people to get started with SLIC. For absolute beginners, the first thing you need is a ModPack. I've appended a ZIP that contains a template structure, all you have to do is unzip it to

...\Call To Power 2\Scenarios.

Write your new SLIC code in

MyModPack\scen000\default\gamedata\scenario.slc

and use

MyModPack\scen000\english\gamedata\scen_str.txt

for the text ('strings') in your messages. Any modified files that you want to use need to go in the appropriate place: e.g., if you want to use a modified strategies.txt you need to put it in ...\Scenarios\MyModPack\scen0000\default\aidata.

To use this zip again, rename the folder 'MyModPack' to whatever you want, and then unzip again.

More information about this file structure can be obtained from Hexagonian's Mod guide available from http://www.geocities.com/hexagonia/

This provides the basic file structure. Modswapper, again from Hexagonian's site, provides a more advanced system.

(Thanks to Martin Guehmann for the Beaver tga, used to represent the busy and hard working modmaker. )
Old November 9, 2001, 18:31   #2
Peter Triggs
King

Here's that Zip:

[Edit: fixed the path so you don't have to make a new folder when you unzip]
Attached Files:
File Type: zip mymodpack.zip (26.3 KB, 44 views)

Last edited by Peter Triggs; November 18, 2001 at 10:54.
Old November 9, 2001, 18:33   #3
Peter Triggs
King

Step 1. Although not necessary, the editor Editplus makes life a lot easier. It's available from http://www.editplus.com . Next pick up the attached zip which contains the files you need to use SLIC in EditPlus2. (These were originally from Locutus's site <http://home.student.utwente.nl/w.snijders>, but the ones here have a few little add ons in the autocomplete and cliptext files.)