Old November 10, 2001, 15:27   #1
Grinch2020
Settler

Local Time: 16:28
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Impressions(and mistakes!) from a new player
Disclaimer: This is a somewhat long post, but may be fun to read as its the story of a new player get his butt kicked!

Hi all I am pretty new to the civ community but I decided to pick up civ III and test it out. I played CTP a little but not a whole lot to really give a whole lot of experience inthis type of genre.

First I have to say that I am really enjoying this game. I have read many of the posts talking of some of things that need to be fixed and agree with many although I havent had too hard of a time learning the interface and Im slowly learning some of the intracacies in the game although appreently not quickly enough for the first real game I played

I decided to try a game on the easiest level with the Germans on a standard map with 6 other civs. I also decided to try and devote almost all of my time researching with almost nothing devoted to military. Can anyone say big mistake! I actually was doing very well up into the 1800's, My culture was taking over many of the small cities fairly easily and I was almost completely wiping out the Russians this way.

After awhile I notice everyone is signing mutual protection pacts with each other. Hmmm ok, (this is probably where I should have got worried but give me a break Im new! I continue to advance nicely when all of the sudden I notice France, England and Russia are starting to move a LOT of troops into my territory. Uh oh!! First time this happened. I contacted each to tel them to remove their troops and low and behold, they declare war! Needless to say at this point I was pretty much out of the game when my vastly inferior troops were being wiped out systematically and my cities being taken over. Even though I had at my disposal troops that were superior I neglected to build any as I was staying peaceful and everyone was polite or peaceful.