Old November 16, 2001, 11:40   #1
Zardose
Settler

Local Time: 11:55
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Mods... Dealing with coruption
Greetings fellow Civ addicts,

I've been reading these boards for a while now and just registered in order to post so, bear with me (I'm a newbie).

To date, I've D/L'ed quite a few patch/mods for Civ3, mostly art improvements (raised land, Irrigation & rivers, improvement info, wonder info, resource tags, ect..((thanks for your hard work, Modders)). I'm holding out on getting a rule changing mods to see what Fraxis does to address issues like coruption and unit balancing.

I've noticed that when you Mod anything applying to coruption it usually means changing the Coruption factor in the rules.. I feel that coruption is a big problem in the real world and so should it be in civ3.

I usually deal with coruption by creating a nest of cities in a resource rich area far from my capitol, build and rush a harbor (on the coast of course, to establish internal trade) and a courthouse in what will be the resource rich second capitol (Building a Forbidden Palace).
This is my standard plan for expansion and seems to be working for me.
However, once I do this, making another nest of cities that will become productive is next to imposible in a high coruption gov't

What I'd like to see in a Coruption Mod is rather than changing the Coruption factor in the rules, is either allowing a civ to build more than one Forbidden Palace or another small wonder with similar properties to the forbidden Palace. I takes alot of time this way but anyting worth doing should be tough, it keeps you humble.

Changing the coruption standards in the rules put out by the makers seem to me like a easy out. Let's work with the rules not around them. (no offence to Ancient, MonkSpider or any one else Modding rules).

Again, Thank you all, for all the hard work that went into improving one of my favorite games. I really appriciate it