Old November 19, 2001, 18:39   #1
Surgeon
Settler

Local Time: 03:06
Local Date: November 1, 2010
'respect my borders' pact
* Before you judge me as a newbie I'd just like to say I've been gaming since Civ1 and have played coutless hours of Civ1, Civ2 and CTP. This does not make me better than you but it helps me form an informed opinion.

I've been playing Civ3 for the past 3 days and personally I think it's almost perfect. The military isnt broken, not perfect but a complete revamp and bringing back firepower will not work. The only thing I'd like to see is fighters defend against bombers well and units shooting from frotresses fixed up.

The AI is pretty good at fighting wars. The AI needs to be fixed regarding its crazy expansionisim, a simple do not build a city here if it cant grow and is useless(pure desert) and do not build if corruption will render this city useless.BTW (i'm gonna get lynched for this), although corruption is a little harsh I think it's good, it limits size well and makes the game more playable by removing the problem of civ 'bloat' making your turns last forever.

My biggest want. A 'respect my borders' pact, a simple pact that if signed means that the AI stays out of your borders for 20 turns. This would solve the problem of 'the french just slapped a city in the middle of my domain where just one square was out of my control'. They have a right of passage agreement so a no right of passage agreement seems logical.

Personally I dont care if the AI cheats, I just want my game to be fun and it's hard having fun when you have to tell every civ to stay the hell outta your land every turn when you could automate it with the pact I mentioned above.
Old November 19, 2001, 18:54   #2
TreeWolf
Settler

Local Time: 17:06
Local Date: October 31, 2010