Old September 16, 2002, 12:38   #121
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 13:38
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Culture fliping will get me a few cities and a very long time, but not enough to win anything. Sometimes a city will not flip even though it is isolated and small. I just do not see that a method that will do much more than add a handfull of cities. It is like watching paint dry.
vmxa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17, 2002, 17:56   #122
ducki
C3C IDG: Apolyton TeamPtWDG2 Cake or Death?Apolyton University
King

Local Time: 11:38
Re: Difficulty level obviously matters
Quote:
Originally posted by Arrian
I've been playing on Regent for a while now, and here are my thoughts on Wonders AT THAT LEVEL:

-Arrian
I think your ALL CAPS bit is the most important part of any rating or tip post.

I'm a true newbie, currently still playing Chieftan, learning which Civs I like and what effects a sprawling REXed empire have on how I like to play.

And that's the second most important part of ratings and tips.

Builders and warmongers simply have different strategies and priorities.

As a newbie, I still like to get almost every wonder I can. Well, except the Great Wall.

Anyway, Difficulty Level and Play Style should always be a prominent part of any strategy post, though many strategies are a playstyle, so that one can often be inferred.

Aside from that, this is a nice analysis of the Wonders. As a newb, I'm still forming opinions about which ones I like.

The Great Lighthouse, by the way, is - IMO - very helpful for a peaceful, trader-builder civ on anything but Pangea. The sooner I can get exclusive Contact and World Maps, the better. Especially if I have exclusive contact with a Civ that is ahead in the Tech Tree. Or if I can get exclusive contact to more than one Civ, I have a monopoly. Sure, it might be shortlived, but it was an enjoyable advantage early on.