Old November 29, 2001, 13:13   #1
JohnE
Chieftain

Local Time: 12:42
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Comments and Questions
This is my first post, but I have been playing Civilization since 1989. But to give you an idea of how I have done, I have won one game on Chieftain, huge world, six Civs by Culture. I am in the middle of a Warlord level game on a standard world with six Civs. I have some comments and questions for people.

This game is definitely better than Civilization II, but there are some things I don't like.

It seems impossible to speed up the construction of Wonders at all, except through "pre-building." This can make Wonder construction very problematic, as whatever Civ has the tech lead and one high-production city gets most of the Wonders.

Corruption is horrendous. It seems to me that conquering the world becomes very difficult once you reach the Industrial Age, because there are just too many cities out there.

Diplomacy is much better, but there are still some confusing things. The AI always ask for more than it gets when it comes to trading luxury or strategic resources. I also wish it were possible to demand that one AI civ make peace with another AI civ. Likewise, the AI asks for an arm and a leg for an MPP when it has three cities, I have 30, and the AI's main enemy has 20 cities.

So, here are my questions:

1. Does anyone know why the strategy guide says you need 80,000 culture points to win by culture? I am fairly certain it is really 100,000.

2. What are some useable strategies for speeding the construction of Wonders?

3. If I lumberjack near a city building a Wonder, but get no message that ten shields were added to any city, what happened?

4. What triggers UN votes?
Old November 29, 2001, 13:49   #2
ICMB
Chieftain

Local Time: 09:42
Re: Comments and Questions
Quote:
Originally posted by JohnE

1. Does anyone know why the strategy guide says you need 80,000 culture points to win by culture? I am fairly certain it is really 100,000.