Old December 6, 2001, 11:27   #1
vitamin j
Prince

Local Time: 13:05
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Scorched Earth...
Just wondering... Will the game let you obliterate your last remaining base, or does someone else have to do it? In an MP game I'm in, my spidey sense suggests an impending early invasion, which I'm totally not ready to deal with. If it happens, I plan to self-D my bases, rather than allow them to be captured. I've never tried it before. Anyone know?
Old December 6, 2001, 12:04   #2
Deimos
Prince

Yep, you can do that.

Is Do or Die turned on? If it is, when you blow the last base, you're out. Otherwise, you'll restart somewhere else, with some goodies to boot.
Old December 6, 2001, 14:28   #3
Flubber
Alpha Centauri PBEMACDG PeaceAlpha Centauri Democracy GameACDG The Human HiveACDG Planet University of TechnologyACDG The Cybernetic Consciousness
Deity

Local Time: 12:05
It can be done but it is considered an atrocity IIRC as you are essentially exterminating your own people . Also I think you must have a unit in the base to do it so its not available as a last ditch measure when your base has been emptied of defenders. I think the unit is lost as well

This option strikes me as a last resort-- one that i would do in the right circumstances-- but a tough one nontheless. the question is whether or not you are certain to lose the base and more importantly how damaging is it for the enemy to take it. When I am about to lose a base, I will sell off improvements etc but often I see it as a probe opportunity. For me, the only time I have self destructed bases was when I was a couple of crucial techs ahead and I had a couple of bases that I could not adequately probe defend (seabases when my opponent had MANY elite probe cruises and sea movment SP)