Old December 8, 2001, 07:53   #1
Libertarian
King

Local Time: 13:11
Local Date: October 31, 2010
My Criticisms of Civ3 (with questions for Firaxis)
I have a couple of reasons for opening this thread. For one thing, I'd like to dispel the myth that I'm a Firaxis agent or sycophant. But more importantly, these are game issues that are not being addressed — at least to my satisfaction — by the good people at Firaxis. Note that my criticisms are of the game, and not of them.

I would appreciate answers from Dan or someone right here so that we'll have a single organized source of reference.

City Population Numbers

All these numbers, except for 1s, are utterly unreadable. Their drop shadows are not rendered properly. In fact, they are hideous, and I believe the eyes make an unconscious effort to avoid looking at them. This attribute hit me like a brick the moment I loaded a file into the patched game.

Questions

How did this get missed? Why was it allowed to pass muster? And when will it be fixed?

No Stack Movement

As a professional developer with experience going all the way back to Timex Sinclairs with 8K of RAM, I've been through the whole drill of software development from design to implementation to maintenance. Sometimes, a missed feature can nearly cripple an otherwise stellar application. This comes close.

I like the idea of workers as opposed to some synthetic and abstract public works model. However! Having to move more than a hundred workers one unit at a time is simply insanity. It is like having a beautiful suit with a gaping hole in the crotch.

This well documented and ubiquitous tedium is multiplied when combined with my next criticism, but it is a separate issue.

In my opinion, any nondeterminism issues with respect to stack movement are trivial to minor. This would not be difficult to design and implement with simple properties and methods that are coordinated between the unit objects and the tile objects (assuming an object oriented design).