Old December 10, 2001, 08:18   #1
HenryMad
Prince

Local Time: 18:16
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Sometimes war is needed: is it true ?
It's three week I'm playing CIV3 and must honestly admit that I'm completely addicted. Before that I have been playing SMAC/X since 1999 and have been able to win often at Trascend.
In CIV3 I usually play as Greek at regent: quite challenging (my strategy need to be developed), sometimes I win, sometimes not.
After several losses in one random map (at Warlord level, it was the last I was playing before switching to Regent), I truly believe now that in some cases it's impossible to win by relying only on pacific and cultural expansion. As a greek I've tried always to center my strategy on science, good relationship with my neighbours, fast cultural expansion, etc. etc.
But here is the example that destroys my beliefs:
A standard map, average settings, two big islands plus a smaller one.
Isle #1 (big): Greeks (me) south, Romans (Middle map), Egyptians (north)
Isle #2 (smaller): Germans (south), Russians (North)
Isle #3 (Biggest): English (north), Chineese (middlemap), Frenchs (South)

I have no iron, saltpeeter, rubber, etc near my cities, while Romans get iron and Egyptians get Iron and Saltpeeter: therefore I start sending my workers/settlers/warriors in the centre before Romans rush in. Even if I succeed in acquiring Iron, when I leave the Ancient Era, English are already incredible strong (and German too). At this point the game is lost, no way to recover. The only mean to survive seems to fight Romans right from the beginning, destroy them and the Egyptians in turn, so to get control of the whole island (and of resources). Cultural expansion is too slow: by the time I am able to culturally acquire some roman cities, English and German have become too strong (English have destroyed Chineese and start knocking at french door, Germans are pressing Russians).