Old December 31, 2001, 02:46   #1
RO
Chieftain

Local Time: 18:55
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Is Democracy a viable form of government?
I'm not too experienced with this version of the game, so I may overlook something.

I played England and went for Democracy. I shared the continent with the Japs, who decided that I had to go and delcared war. After a lengthy defense my cities started to fall into disorder because of war weariness, and I had to abandon Democracy in favour of Communism .

This leads me to the conclusion that Democracy will - in the long run - not be a viable goverment in the game, as it seems to be next to impossible to avoid war given the (stupid) performance of the AI civs. The same ought to apply to the Republic.

Am I wrong?

Robert
Old January 4, 2002, 20:24   #2
Illyrien
Settler

Local Time: 19:55
In Civ3 there are no ultimate government. You have to decide what you want to do. Do you want to go to war then go Communist, if you prefer peace then Democrazy is the way to go.

With police stations and Womens Suffrage you should be able to have war for quite some time, especially if you have some luxury goods and Luxury% But in the long run, your democrazy will collaps...

Personally I use Democrazy most of the time even war time, as long was I have a chance of ending the war.
Old January 5, 2002, 02:58   #3
ledj
Settler

When I know that I will win (normally space race) without any war effort I will negotiate a peace treaty and change to Demo. This is normally when I rushed the Hoover Dam with a Great leader. The major advantage of a Demo government in this game is the improved speed of the workers. You can build railroad all over the place. Do not engage a prolonged war during Demo.
Old January 6, 2002, 13:36   #4
Shaka II
Prince

Local Time: 13:55