Old January 11, 2002, 15:04   #1
awesomedude
Chieftain

Local Time: 19:13
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Probs with civ3.....
I'm not sure if this goes in here or help but anyway.... (Long post)

I just got the game last week. I own Civ2 and played it for quite some time so I'm not a total newbie, but not as diehard as most of the people around this board. I'm having a few questions and problems with the game you might be able to help me out with:

1. What's with the research of this game? In my first (and so far only game in civ3) I've kept a constant pretty high scientific rate of 60-70%, through republic and democracy. My little empire is far from huge (isolated on a smaller island with no luxuries whatsoever argh), but my AI opponents and I are about at the same research level, but still VERY backwards. In Civ2 I would usually have gotten destroyers and such by the 1600s (which is fine by me, although not realistic, but you at least get to play with all units before the end of the game), but now I'm at 1970 and I just got em!! I will have no chance of finishing the research tree in this game, barely even make it to modern age!! I'm trying to speed the research as much as I can, all the improvements built since long etc, but still it takes about 10 turns to research every new tech.

2. Does the mutual protection acts work? I currently have one with the English (mightiest of all, gracious with me), and when the persians declared me war, NOTHING happened, no notice no nothing. Did they turn me down? Wouldn't you at least expect a popup telling me so? And when I checked the active agreements, the pact was still amongst those. Later in the war (most civs sided with me), the english declared war upon the persians due to their pact with the zulus.

3. How would you cancel agreements? When I check the agreements box, all I can do is renegotiate peaceterms.