Old January 16, 2002, 18:05   #1
blim
Settler

Local Time: 15:26
Local Date: October 31, 2010
How long are your games?
I'm relatively new to Civ3, only on my 3rd game (American-Regent) and am about to build my spaceship, basically kicking the AI's butt. I quit my first game since I overlooked railroads, and was stomped in my second cuz every other AI civ allied against me. But I have a question I am curious about....

How long are the games the typical player plays? I've been working on my current game on and off for days and am just about to win for the first time. Are there players who actually complete a game in one night? Am I missing something that can make my games shorter?

I realize there are many variables that can determine the length of a game. But say, 5-6 AI civs and a large map. I'm curious how long others spend on a game and if my playing style is ordinary or if I'm over-micromanaging.
Old January 16, 2002, 18:08   #2
Qilue
King

Local Time: 05:26
Local Date: November 1, 2010
I play huge maps with 8 civs and a game usually takes about 60-70 hours. I also only have a p2-400 so turn processing takes a while in late game.
Old January 16, 2002, 18:28   #3
Arrian
PtWDG Gathering StormInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamApolyton UniversityC4DG Gathering StormPtWDG2 Cake or Death?
Deity

I usually play Normal maps, 8 civs, and my games take a few days, (that's playing 5+ hours at a time). I started a game last night on Marla's Huge Earth Map - bad idea. It's awesome, but my poor computer can barely deal with it... turns are taking forever. I played for roughly 7 hours straight and it's 400AD.

-Arrian

The trick isn't to break some eggs to make an omelette, it's convincing the eggs to break themselves in order to aspire to omelettehood.
Old January 17, 2002, 04:59   #4
AndrewJ
Settler

Local Time: 19:26