Old January 17, 2002, 11:38   #31
Velociryx
staff
PtWDG Gathering StormApolytoners Hall of FameC4DG Gathering StormThe Courts of Candle'Bre

Local Time: 19:27
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Gathering....gathering....
I woke up this morning with great anticipation....looking forward to heading to 'poly to see what, if anything, had been written here, and on some of the other threads I'm following.

What I was expecting to see here is...exactly what I got. Voices of reason, stating all the reasons the idea probably will never get off the ground.

Thank you for that!

I *NEED* that!

Why?

Because I'm an artist. I create stories and board games out of nothing and there are no limits in my world.

More than anything, I need to be reminded that my limitless world sometimes (often?) clashes with the real one I'm bound to in life.

The other reason I need it is because the more I hear that it can't be done, the more determined it makes me. You want to inspire me? Tell me it's impossible. Tell me nobody in his right mind would even attempt to create something like this on a wing and a prayer.

I've always been the one to root for the underdog.....it's true, most of the time, the underdog can't hang, gets beat, folds, fades into obscurity....but sometimes....some rare and glorious times, the underdog whips one out on the big kahunas....and when that happens....WOW! Those are the stories that are remembered.

Example: Two groups from history. The Huns and the Scots.

Both fierce warrior-tribes.

The Huns were....kinna a one trick pony. They were tough and mean, but what made them the underdog was that, once the rest of Europe wised up to their games, they were pretty quickly ushered off the world stage.

The Scots....TALK about your underdog! England had a fantastic, well trained army MUCH larger than anything the poor Scots could hope to field. They had little training, no support from their own nobility, improvised weapons.....in a word, HOPELESS.