Old January 18, 2002, 13:23   #1
Velociryx
staff
PtWDG Gathering StormApolytoners Hall of FameC4DG Gathering StormThe Courts of Candle'Bre

Local Time: 19:31
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Comment Thread - The Courts of Candle'Bre
'k....I decided, for ease of finding the rules, to move them over to the "Other Games" category.

For those of you who may be looking in on this thread for the first time, this discussion came about via several people saying both in the forums and via PM/e-mail that it'd be really cool if I was on the design team for Civ4.

That got me thinking....yeah. I'd like that! But...since it's unlikely in the extreme that a big-name company would just come up and ask me to do something like that, the idea got in my head and under my skin that It'd be *almost as good* to design....something....anything and see what the folk of 'poly thought about it.

So....given that I have some experience at designing board games, I decided to develop one on the fly. Over the course of two days, I sketched out a design and wrote the rules in the "other" Candle' Bre thread (which does not exist as I write this, but will soon enough). The rules in that thread outline how the game would be played out if it were a board game, and are in a state of completion that those curious could co-opt pieces from various games around the house and actually play it out to see what it's like.

I put out an APB for people with art and programming skills, and the whole thing started to gel from there....with luck, we'll have a mock-up of the vision presented in the rules thread soon!

This then, is an attempt by me to foster discussion about the design, and do it in such a way that it leaves the rules thread intact, so the folks doing the coding and art have one centralized place to go looking for the rules as they stand now (and any tweaks and ideas I get in this discussion, I will simply go in and edit what's already there).

Read 'em over and give me your thoughts!