Old January 29, 2002, 08:54   #1
Haertgaeden
Settler

Local Time: 14:56
Local Date: October 31, 2010
My Ancient-Era War vs. Chinese
I have a question, as I'm still fairly new to the game. In my current game, I'm playing as the Romans. To my north was the Chinese capital. I quickly began researching up to iron working, and pumping out as many settlers as I could to claim as much land as I could - I discovered I was on a fairly wide penninsula, with my only land-based neighbors being the Chinese.

After discovering iron working and doing some exploring with my archers, I saw that the Chinese capital only had a pop of 1, and they had just founded a second city to their southeast, Shanghai. In their territory, they had a source of iron, a source of incense, and two sources of spices. Needless to say, I wanted that land.

I went about my assault all wrong - rather than amassing an army of Legionaires, I assaulted Shanghai with a wave of regular archers (4) and warriors (2), in order to probe China's defenses. Shanghai fell, even though I lost all but one archer. I then moved up an army of eight Legionaires to attack Beijing.

I destroyed all of the Chinese improvements - roads, mines, and irrigation. I then managed to take Beijing in three turns - only because I spent some time moving my troops rather than attacking all at once from the same direction.

Here's my question: I occupied Beijing, got a slave worker out of the deal, plus my resources that I was after in the first place. Maybe a dozen turns later, the Chinese contact me, and ask to exchange territory maps. I agree, and I now see that they have occupied a small tract of land just south of the Greeks, slightly further north from my location that they originally were. Since I razed one city and occupied their capital, how did they manage to survive and found a new city? What should I have done different to see that they were wiped off the face of the planet?
Old January 29, 2002, 11:20   #2
Ironikinit
Prince