Old December 7, 2000, 04:51   #1
Belart
Settler

Local Time: 00:34
Local Date: October 31, 2010
A major flaw in ALL Civ games
First of all and since it's my first post here
Hello to all CIV community.

Second. If this issue has already been adressed, just point me in the right direction, please.

Okay to the point. I've been playing civ since the beginning for god knows how many years but recently (while playing CtP2 and reading the list for Civ3 )I realized that theres a huge problem in civilization.
It is that the _only_ reason for any battles in civ is conquest (I mean like only to please your ego - I have conquered all) You never go to war because of the scarcity of resources, control over a particular fertile area (since maps are normally quite uniform).
This is not waht happened in history, it's totally wrong from the point of the reasons for human action.
Therefore I think that there should be.
1) Strategic resources.
When your civ area is very small and you dont have any mountains or hills you cannot discover metal working or stone working or whatever. Of course the maps shoud be totally reworked for that. Then you meet other civs. If they have that resource you can now research it _but_ to build any unit with that resource you pay gold to the civ (If you area at war - you get no resource)Of course Iron and copper should them be in nearly any hill/mountain tile or it will not work.
Same with everything up to uranium with only a few select locations for that one.
No mountain rivers in your tiles - no hydroelectric power, just oil (you may have to buy it, meaning the civ with oil field get some gold every turn from each of your cities with power plant)
Much fertile land - only where it's supposed to be. This will give all the steppe, desert civs the drive to conquer land. In this context the idea of city tiles would be great as cities would grow along rivers a.s.o...
2) more happiness/unhappiness.