Old February 21, 2002, 21:17   #31
ShuShu
Chieftain

Local Time: 20:51
Local Date: October 31, 2010
In an effort to deflate the whiner barage...
I am a tech trader in the game. I found the biggest reason to be expansionist is for that first contact. I play emperor because deity does limit your options, but emperor provides a challenge for all the strategies I like to toy with.

1) How does the AI get 6 techs in one turn with no income?
I assume it is the same way I do it.
- Be first to a tech (goody hut most likely in Saurus example)
- Trade to richest known for second best tech and contacts.
- repeat process till all contacts milked for all techs.

2) Diplomacy every turn is tedious.
I'll say it is, that's why I only conduct it when I
- Discover a new tech
- cross a 20 turn barrier (I usually blow this off and wait for the tech)
- Acquire a new tradable commodity

3) The AI is too smart
That is what Chieftain is for.
- It'll still be smart, but you get to be the dumb AI with massive production/research bonuses.
- I am surpised how many people get a bruised ego if not playing Deity.
Old February 21, 2002, 21:45   #32
Kensan
Settler

Local Time: 12:51
AI Tech Trading - Something is wrong
Soren,

I also think there is a something weird with AI tech trading. And if it is just the "discounting" factor it seems way off base. I played the Apolyton #6 tournament game using the new patch. I was able to make contact with 9 out of 12 civs fairly early in the game.

Once the Great Library gave me Education, I was in a world of hurt. I couldn't make any deals with any AI for the only thing I had of value. I had gone down the Engineering line knowing that the GL would keep me in the loop for the other techs. No one had any money to give me for Engineering. Most had only single digit gold in their treasuries. Yet somehow by some miracle in just a few turns every single civ was 3 techs ahead of me.